New faces to our Leadership Team

Dear MAPS Volunteers,


We would like to introduce you to our new interns for the upcoming school year + future. As Rebecca and Haidang are graduating this June, 4 new wonderful faces will take over our leadership positions. They will be your new intern coordinators. With excitement and pleasure, I would like to introduce you to Jessica Hudson, Michael Arias, Lina Manoukian, and Alma Jusufagic. Congratulations to these four volunteers for taking a leadership role in our program. Here are their biographies:

JESSICA HUDSON


Hi everyone!  My name is Jess and I am one of the new MAPS interns. I grew up in Toronto, Canada and did my undergrad in Kinesiology at the University of Western Ontario (don’t worry… I don’t say “eh” at the end of every sentence ;)). After I graduated, I managed some of the residence halls at my undergrad for a few years before deciding to go back to grad school. I decided I was sick of the freezing cold snowy winters and ventured to LA where I did my Masters in Student Affairs at USC (oh no!) ;) Right now, I work at UCLA as the Admissions Coordinator for the nursing school and have been involved with MAPS since June. MAPS has been an amazing experience and I have learned so much!  I can’t wait to get to know all of the volunteers and continue to make this program great!

MICHAEL ARIAS

Hello everyone! My name is Michael Arias and I am one of the new MAPS Intern Coordinators. I am a second year biology major at UCLA, which has been my dream school ever since I was a child. I grew up in Eagle Rock, California (right next to the Rose Bowl in Pasadena) as an only child, and my parents are two of my best friends. I love everything about LA: the weather, the food, the Lakers, and the people! I have been volunteering with MAPS since July 2010, and this program has given me some of the most rewarding experiences of my entire life. I started volunteering in the program knowing that I would one day become one of the coordinators for it, and here I am today! I am proud of this program and how it has grown so far, but I only look forward to continue its expansion so that other volunteers can be given the experiences that I have received from MAPS myself. Don’t be afraid to e-mail me about anything, and I can’t wait to see the changes that the MAPS family will make next! 

LINA MANOUKIAN

My name is Lina Manoukian (from Burbank, CA!) and I am currently a second year student at UCLA majoring in Physiological Science. I came into UCLA knowing that I wanted to going into the medical field, however, I knew very little about the actual life of a doctor and how they interact with their patients. After seeing the beautiful Ronald Reagan Medical Center during orientation, one of the first things I did as a freshman was sign up for volunteering. That’s when I first got introduced to MAPS! I read a little about this program in the volunteering pamphlet and I knew that it would be very interesting to be a part of a group of students that ensure patient safety takes place. Now, after a year of being a volunteer for MAPS, I have be granted the opportunity to intern with a fantastic group of students and members, and I’m super excited to see how all of our ideas come together to further improve and perfect this program! A little bit more background about myself…I have an immense passion for music. I began taking piano and vocal lessons as a kid and have been in love with music ever since. I am a part of the UCLA Chorale (come watch our shows!) and absolutely enjoy every minute of it. I also enjoy watching/playing basketball-go Lakers! : )

ALMA JUSUFAGIC

Hi everyone! My name is Alma Jusufagic. I was born in Bosnia but grewup in California and I absolutely love it here! We have the bestweather (which is perfect because I love to go swimming in my freetime) and the best basketball team (Lakers)! I am a second year lifesciences major here at UCLA and I definitely hope to work as aphysician someday. I have wanted to be a doctor since I was a childand have thus been volunteering in hospitals for a few years now inorder to get a feel for the medical world. Volunteering with MAPS hasbeen so rewarding and has given me the best insight into the medicalfield out of all the volunteer programs I have participated in. Istarted volunteering with MAPS this year and have already learned somuch about hospital policy, the job responsibilities of nurses,doctors, and other medical staff, and how to communicate with othersand I am eager to continue learning more. As a MAPS intern I am reallyexcited to meet more MAPS volunteers, bring our group closer together,and see how the program can expand further. We have a great group ofinterns and I am thrilled to work with them, exchanging and combiningideas, so we can continue to make MAPS the great program that it is! Ilove to help people (which I would think anyone aspiring to be adoctor does) and I love to talk with people, so if anyone ever needshelp or just wants to talk, feel free to come to me. :) I look forwardto working with everyone and helping MAPS continue to thrive over thenext few years!

 

Leave a Reply

